(08) 9202 6811 or 0424 798 658      Australia Wide

ISO 26000 – Operating in a Socially Responsible Way

ISO (International Organisation for Standardization) is an independent, non-governmental organization representing the National Standard Institutes of over 150 countries. They develop and publish international standards in response to the needs of the international market and global expert opinions. There are certifiable ISO standards and non-certifiable standards, such as ISO 26000: Social Responsibility.

ISO 26000: Social Responsibility, being a non-certifiable standard, provides guidance rather than requirements. It helps organizations to understand what social responsibility is and provides recommendations on how to operate in a socially responsible way.

Why Adopt ISO?

There are many benefits to being ISO certified, which we discussed in a previous post here. Also, there are benefits to simply adopting ISO into your organization and using standards such as ISO 26000 to guide your management system processes and overall business principles.

ISO 26000: Social Responsibility

The guidance provided in ISO 26000 is designed to assist organizations in going beyond basic legal compliance, creating an environment promoting social responsibility in all areas. Social responsibility is defined as meaning “the responsibility of an organization for the impacts of its decisions and activities on society and environment, through transparent and ethical behavior…

Why Be Socially Responsible?

How people perceive an organization to be in terms of social responsibility can influence, among other things:

  • competitive advantage;
  • reputation;
  • ability to attract and retain staff;
  • employee commitment and efficiency;
  • the views of key stakeholders; and,
  • relationships with other organizations.

How to be a Socially Responsible Organization According to ISO 26000

ISO 26000 has seven key underlying principles and seven core subjects.

The Seven Principles of ISO 26000

  1. Accountability
  2. Transparency
  3. Ethical Behavior
  4. Respect for Stakeholder Interests
  5. Respect for the Rule of Law
  6. Respect for International Norms of Behavior
  7. Respect for Human Rights

The Seven Core Subjects

  1. Organizational Governance
  2. Human Rights
  3. Labor Practices
  4. The Environment
  5. Fair Operating Practices
  6. Consumer Issues
  7. Community Involvement and Development

Schematic Overview

Below is a schematic overview of ISO 26000 from the ISO website.

Schematic Overview of ISO 26000
ISO 26000 Schematic Overview from ISO

Detailed Guide to Social Responsibility

Click the button below to check the ISO’s detailed guide to ISO 26000 and turn your organization into a global leader in social responsibility.

Certifiable ISO Standards

In Australia, the standards that are most common for certification are:

Through quality processes, ISO-certified organizations are able to constantly monitor and improve their well-documented and structured processes. These organizations lead the way in terms of quality, efficiency, and productivity.

Each ISO standard has different specific benefits, and together they work to provide a solid and streamlined foundation for a successful organization. ISO-certified businesses tend to have better customer retention and satisfaction, lower staff turnover, and consistent quality outcomes.

An ISO-certified management system can also help to reduce costs, increase market share and gain access to new markets.

iso 26000, ISO 26000 – Operating in a Socially Responsible Way

4 Steps to ISO

Get in touch with QSM Group today to discuss your ISO compliance and certification needs. 

Our experienced consultants work with you to develop, implement and monitor your management systems. We can also assist with achieving certification to any desired certifiable ISO standards.

4 Steps to Achieving ISO Certification
4 Steps to Achieving ISO Certification with QSM Group
Scroll to top